Last year Aaron McLaughlin/Darren Curren in the super quick Fiesta R5 took top honours to win the Loughgall Stages Rally for the second time, from Adrian Wray/Martin Brady and the Loughgall champion, Damian Toner who first won the event in 2015 in his powerful MK2 Escort. These three top drivers are already entered again this year and each is looking forward to the win, with Aaron stating “it would be brilliant to achieve the third win in a row at Loughgall, where the compact rally format and the competition are really fantastic”

Hoping to spoil Aaron, Adrian and Damian’s chances is a list of top entries which have been already received. Other competitors who hope to compete should note that the maximum entry list of 80 crews is filling fast.

Taking place on Saturday 6 July, the North Armagh Motor Club Ltd organised event now in its 26th year, will again break the tradition of all stages held within the beautiful confines of County Armagh’s Loughgall Country Park and will incorporate the six-mile closed road stage, which is located close to Loughgall village and this will be run three times, in conjunction with the parkland stages.

PRM Group and RPM Motorsport have eagerly agreed to sponsor the event again this year. Managing Director, Philip Morrow, said:

“I am delighted to be associated again with such a high-profile motorsport event in Northern Ireland. It provides the perfect fit for our business interests and as a keen car enthusiast, I am looking forward to seeing some of the fastest drivers in the country compete for the spoils in both the stunning Loughgall country park and the nearby classic closed road stage.”

Competitors will tackle a total of seven stages, four based within the park and three on the closed roads.

The event’s Clerk of Course, William Fullerton, said:

“We are most grateful to PRM Group and RPM Motorsport for their generous, enthusiastic and continued support, and also to Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council, for their assistance and to DAERA and AFBI Government Departments and the N.I. Forest Service for the use of Loughgall Country Park, the compact format of the event with very low road mileage and central servicing after every two special stages has been well received by competitors”.

Formerly a two-wheel-drive only event, the Loughgall Stages Rally is again open to four-wheel drive cars also and along with the previously dominant two-wheel drive cars, it should once again provide an exciting and competitive spectacle for spectators.

Competitors should note; entries at close at 10.00pm on Wednesday 26th June.

Scrutiny begins at Loughgall Country Park for all Competitors from 3.30pm on Friday 30th June where cars and service vehicles may be left overnight in the service park, which will have security present throughout.

Competitors will have the opportunity to recce the stages (walk or cycle the park and drive the road stage) from 2.30-8.30pm on Friday 5th July and in the park only, from 7.00-8.30am sharp on Saturday morning.

There will be an historic, classic and rally car display in the central arena during the event; anyone wishing to bring a suitable display vehicle, the entry is £10 per car, (including driver and passenger) and club contacts are Brian Stinson, 07761 358907 or Alan Dalzell, 07913 675902. Refreshments are available in the Country Park which will be closed during the rally to other public activities.

The action starts at 10.00am with all stages held on tarmac roads and will conclude at 5.00pm. Admission to the event is £10 for adults (which includes a programme) while accompanied children under the age of 16 are admitted free; limited free public car parking available. For more information, visit


Notes for Competitors:

Visit for further information.

Note for Editors:

Photo caption: Loughgall Stages Rally – 2023 Winners, Aaron McLaughlin/Darren Curran [Ford Fiesta R5].

Photo by Gary Craig Motorsport Photography.

For more information, contact North Armagh Motor Club Press Officer, Simon Fullerton,

on 07745 891227 or email:

Filed Under: NAMC

About the Author