Orchard Motorsport Lurgan Park Rally Press Release 6th July 2015

Garry Jennings LPR15 Winner

Photo courtesy of Gary Craig Motorsport Photography

Press Release: 6th July 2015: For immediate release.

Orchard Motorsport Lurgan Park Rally

A large number of spectators enjoyed a bumper day out on last Saturday’s Lurgan Park Rally and saw a great display from Kesh’s Garry Jennings as he powered his Subaru to victory, clinching a hat trick of wins. The weather early on Saturday morning was wet and miserable but brightened into a marvellous summer’s day which revealed the true beauty and grandeur of Lurgan Park.

Besides all the Motorsport action, it was a real family day out and as the rally cars roared around the narrow paths, families enjoyed picnics, children’s face painting and fun activities by the lake.

The rally action wasn’t bad either, with Draperstown’s Derek McGeehan in his Mini WRC leading the event initially. Garry Jennings upped his pace as the tracks dried and by lunchtime had moved into a lead he wasn’t to lose. Eleven times previous Lurgan Park winner Kenny McKinstry, this time in a Subaru similar to the Jennings machine, set some cracking times late in the day to move into 2nd place, usurping McGeehan to 3rd. There were crews from many parts of Ireland and the UK taking part, and happily there were no major mishaps, although Welshman Melvyn Evans did clip one of his Subaru’s wheels in stage 2 and was forced to retire. The organising North Armagh Motor Club, supported by the Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Council did put in a massive organisational effort, with safety and security the priority.

Orchard Motorsport Lurgan Park Rally Top Ten:-

1st Garry Jennings/Michael Moran (Impreza WRC) 15.42.5

2nd Kenny McKinstry/Michael Gilmore (Impreza WRC) +0m 06.8s

3rd Derek McGeehan/Laurie Smyth (Mini WRC) +0m 10.7s

4th Derek McGarrity/Alan Beattie (Impreza WRC) +0m 25.0s

5th Stuart Biggerstaff/Stephen Jess (Impreza WRC) +0m 33.0s

6th Jonny Leonard/Geraldine Leonard (Lancer) +0m 54.6s

7th Pat O’Connell/Mark Wiley (Lancer) +1m 00.7s

8th Wesley Patterson/Johnny Baird (Escort) +1m 05.0s

9th Ray Brammer/Mo Downey (Impreza WRC) +1m 05.1s

10th Denis Biggerstaff/Adam Carson (Metro 6R4) +1m 06.9s

Class Winners: – CL1 Paul Barrett/Declan Tumilty (Impreza N): CL2 Alan Smyth/Richard Kinloch (Citroen C2R2): CL3 Alastair Cochrane/Jason Craig (Escort): CL4 Wesley Patterson/Johnny Baird (Escort): CL5 Jonny Leonard/Geraldine Leonard (Lancer): CL6 Garry Jennings/Michael Moran (Impreza WRC): CL7 (Historics) Stephen Mawhinney/Alex Couples (Sunbeam): CL8 (Historics) Drew Wylie/James Leckey (Escort).

Issued by: Brian & Liz Patterson: Patterson Agencies Ltd. E-mail pattpace@aol.com tel 028 90844111

Filed Under: Club NewsEvent newsNAMC


About the Author